InsiderNJ: Spevak Secures Another Term as NJ Young Dems Prez

Spevak Secures Another Term as NJ Young Dems Prez

New Jersey Young Democrats unanimously re-elected Marshall Spevak of Camden County to another term as State President of the New Jersey Young Democrats. Pursuant to the NJYD Constitution, elections are held in odd number years prior to the national Young Democrats of America National Convention. The election and fall planning meeting took place at the Northeast Regional Council of Carpenters offices in Edison.

“I’m extremely humbled by the outpouring of support I’ve received from across the state to continue to serve,” said Spevak. “I’m grateful to be leading the Young Democrats at a time when we have a record number of young people running for and holding elected office.”

“I am proud of the great work Marshall and his Executive Board have done to not only elect Young Democratic candidates but to build a bench of young operatives and talent for years to come,” said John Currie, Chairman of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee. “The New Jersey Young Democrats have worked hand-in-hand with the NJDSC and we will continue to work together to promote our shared progressive values.”

Since 2014, NJYD has expanded to 17 county chapters and 7 constituency caucuses. NJYD has presided over two successful Building Our Future training programs alongside the NJDSC and just last week completed its first ever High School Leadership Academy – where 18 high school students from across the state came to Trenton for a three-day intensive training program designed to cultivate our next generation of leaders.

The following New Jerseyan’s were elected to the Executive Board tonight:

President: Marshall Spevak (Camden)
Executive Vice President: Christina Zuk (Monmouth)
National Committeeman: Charles T. Burton (Middlesex)
National Committeewoman: Andrea Katz (Bergen/Camden)
Vice President (North): Michael Makarski (Hudson)
Vice President (Central): Brandon McKoy (Mercer)
Vice President (South): Jesus Alcázar (Cumberland)
Treasurer: Amanda Dávila Switzer (Burlington)
Secretary: Kristin Ianco Yeager (Middlesex)

Spevak of Cherry Hill was elected NJYD President in 2014 and has served on the Board since 2007. He serves as the Chief of Staff to Assemblyman Vince Mazzeo in the battleground 2nd Legislative District. He also serves as Vice Chair of the Cherry Hill Democratic Committee, Chair of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee’s Youth Caucus, and as a Committeeman on the Camden County Democratic Committee among other non-partisan volunteer boards.


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.