Young Democrats’ Black Caucus Issue List of 50 Powerful ‘Young Black Democrats’

The New Jersey Young Democrats of America Black Caucus today issued its list of 50 powerful young Black Democrats of 2015! We're proud to support such a talented and passionate group of advocates.

Here's the list:


Archange Antoine (Union) — President of the New Jersey Young Democrats Black Caucus, President of the Roselle Board of Education, and Principal Strategist at Saviors & Associates.

Assemblyman Jamel Holley (D-20)

Assemblyman Jamel Holley (D-20)

Freeholder Britnee N. Timberlake (Essex) — President of the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders and an affordable housing and education advocate as Executive Director of the Essex Community Land
Trust and pilot creator of College Bound Cookies.

Tom Little (Mercer) — Communication Director for the Young Dems Black Caucus and Legislative Aide to Assemblyman Vince Mazzeo (D-Atlantic)

Marthelle Guervil (Union) — Chairwoman of the Union County Women’s Caucus and Executive Director of the Haitian American Committee

Shante Palmer (Essex) — Policy Advisor to U.S. Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ)

Samantha Gordon (Middlesex) — Vice President for Corporate Communications at MWWPR

Assemblyman Adam J. Taliaferro (Gloucester) — Former Freeholder and Assemblyman to New Jersey’s 3rd
Legislative District

Councilman Christopher James (Essex) – Executive Director of the NJ State Democratic Committee and
Councilman of East Orange, NJ

Councilman Duncan W. Harrison Jr. (Mercer) — Council at Large of Trenton, New Jersey

Freeholder Theodore “TJ” Best (Passaic) — Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Brandon McKoy (Burlington) — Policy Analyst at New Jersey Policy Perspective

Jessica Stewart (Camden) — Associate at RP Consulting

Derel M. Stroud (Monmouth) — NJ State Democratic Operative

Reginald Bledsoe (Essex) — Legislative Aide to Councilman Eddie Osborne of Newark

Deborah Curry (Passaic) — Democratic Operative for Passaic County

Osner Charles (Essex) — East Orange Acting Director of Recreation & Culture Affairs

Tai Cooper (Essex) — Policy Advisor to Mayor Ras J. Baraka of Newark

Charlene Bathelus (Union) – Member of the Elizabeth Board of Education

Tyrone Daye (Essex) — Former Legislative Aide to Ronald Rice, Jr and Mayor’s Office – Career Advisor/Supervisor for Youth Operation

Jasi Mikae Edwards (Mercer) — Office Manager to Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Mayor Angela R. Garretson (Union) — Mayor of Hillside, New Jersey

Joel A. Griffith (Mercer) — Special Assistant to Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Jason C. Grove (Essex) — President of the Urban League of Essex County Young Professionals

Marqweesha Guthrie (Passaic) — Secretary to the Passaic County Young Democrats

Rashon K. Hasan (Essex) — Former President of the Newark Public Schools Advisory Board

Steve Garry Hockaday, Esq. (Union) — Immediate Past President of the Garden State Bar Association

Assemblyman Jamel C. Holley (Union) — Assemblyman to New Jersey’s 20th Legislative District

Councilman Darvis Holley (Burlington) — Councilman of Willingboro, New Jersey

Christopher C. Irving (Passaic) — Former President of the Paterson Board of Education and Executive Director/CEO at the Miller Institute of Leadership and Diversity

Ajay Jalloh (Union) — Former Chief of Staff to Assemblyman Green and City of Plainfield Clerk

Freeholder Mohamed S. Jalloh (Union) — Chairman of the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders and CEO of Jalloh & Jalloh

Talia Young (Bergen) – Former Project Specialist for Senator Lautenberg

Freeholder Jim Jefferson (Gloucester) — Member of the Gloucester County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Keith Jones (Middlesex) — Community Organization Specialist to the City of New Brunswick

Sarah E. Jones, Esq. (Essex) — District Director to Congressman Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)

Bergson Leneus (Essex) — President of the East Orange Board of Education

Marques-Aquil Lewis (Essex) — Vice Chairperson of the Newark Public Schools Advisory Board

Tennille McCoy (Mercer) — Director of Employee Relations at UBS Wealth Management

Khalil Chaneyfield Nass (Essex) — Chief of Staff to Councilwoman Gayle Chaneyfield Jenkins of Newark

Braxton Plummer (Atlantic) – Political Consultant

Nakima Redmon (Passaic) — Vice Chair of the Paterson Historic Preservation Commission

Naima Ricks (Union) — Vice President of the Roselle Board of Education

Khalifah Shabazz (Essex) — Attorney at Shabazz & Associates

Kenneth A. Simpson (Passaic) – Vice Chairman of the Passaic County Planning Board and Chair of the
Paterson Historic Preservation Commission

Dan Smith (Mercer) — Vice Chair of the Mercer County Democratic Committee

Roslyn Smith (Essex) — Executive Director at the Essex County Democratic Committee

Jazmine Sandifer (Union) — Member of the Roselle Board of Education and daughter of the late
Councilman Randy Sandifer of Roselle.

Councilman Sean M. Spiller (Essex) — Councilman of Montclair, New Jersey

Shirley Genty Vogt (Middlesex) — Advisor to Mayor John E. McCormac of Woodbridge, New Jersey

Board Member Christopher Irving – (Passiac) – Former President of the Paterson School Board and
Executive Director of the Miller Institute

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • a
    commented 2017-02-18 09:25:24 -0500
    Any chance you guys want to restart or update this page? The public could use you more than ever.